Previous news

From January 8 to 13, 2021, the XVII International Zhautykov Olympiad was held in Almaty based on the Republican School of Physics and Mathematics in an online format

This year, the Olympiad was held in a unique format-in online mode. It was attended by 1006 schoolchildren from 21 countries, representing 146 teams from Kazakhstan, Australia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Georgia, Denmark, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Russia, Romania, Serbia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turkey, Uzbekistan, and Ukraine. The members of the Olympiad jury also acted as representatives of the participating countries. The uniqueness of the Olympiad lies in the fact that the competition is traditionally held in three subjects at once among specialized schools of physics and mathematics.

The closing ceremony with the announcement of the winners of the XVII International Zhautykov Olympiad in Mathematics, Physics and Computer Science was held in Almaty, Kazakhstan, on January 13, 2021 at 14:00 in an online format. Berik Kaniev, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the NcJSC «Republican School of Physics and Mathematics», delivered a congratulatory speech.

«We could not refuse to hold our already traditional annual Olympics because of the pandemic. Talented students from all over the world are potential scientists, doctors and entrepreneurs who will face global challenges in the future. We had to give them the opportunity to work on complex problems in physics, mathematics, and computer science at an international competition. The guys did a great job and were happy to virtually «visit» Kazakhstan and get acquainted with the culture of our country», says Berik Kaniev, Chairman of the Board of Directors of NcJSC «RFMS» on his Facebook page.

In total, 500 participants in three subjects became prize-winners, 90 of them received awards of the highest standard. The Grand Prix in the category «Best Olympic School» was awarded to the team of the International Computer School of Bucharest, Romania. The first place went to the team of the Quantum College in Yerevan, Armenia; the second place went to the teams of the T. Vianu National Higher School of Computer Science, Bucharest, Romania, and the Physical and Mathematical Lyceum No. 31, Chelyabinsk, Russia; the third-place teams Math high school, Belgrade, Serbia, of the Lyceum of the Belarusian state University №1 Minsk, Republic of Belarus, and the team of the Sofia high school of mathematics «Paisii Hilendarski», Sofia, Bulgaria.

The youngest participant was a student from the city of Kanibadam Mayusupov Khusrav, and the participants who showed the best results in the category «Mathematics» received the Nurlan Kapparov Prize of the same name from the Public Foundation named after Nurlan Kapparov, in the category «Physics»— the Adilet Imambekov Prize and in the category «Informatics» — the Ilya Segalovich Prize. They were Alexandru Luchianov, Bucharest, Romania; Matvey Knyazev, Dolgoprudny, Russia; Igor Pylaev, Kharkiv, Ukraine; and Stoika Avrilium Vijaya, Tangerang, Indonesia.

Within the framework of the Olympiad, an exhibition of universities of Kazakhstan and other countries is traditionally held. Astana IT University and the Kazakhstan-British Technical University (KBTU) have provided full grants for the training of all the winners of the International Zhautykov Olympiad of Final classes.

International Zhautykov Olympiad is held annually with the support of MES and Republican scientific-practical center «Daryn». The Olympic Games have been sponsored by the Lancaster Group, the Fizmat Endowment Fund, and the Nurlan Kapparov Foundation for several years.


The official results of the Olympiad are available on the Olympiad website: 

Next news